Heading Back to the Studio!

Just returned from a three day workshop retreat in Port Townsend, WA. Inspiration and gratitude in full force – more about that soon!

But first; another class tonight! I’ve enrolled in an Oil Painting class with the local community college, the first college course I’ve taken since graduating with my Illustration degree. I am thrilled beyond words to head back to the oil painting studio. Some of my favorite memories of college were the hours in the painting studios…the caked on layers of paint on the old thick rusty metal easels…the scent of turpentine and spirits…the soft glow of the spotlights on the model or still life in the darkened room. Concentration and imagination filled the air. Completely opposite of the florescent lit chair filled lecture rooms that filled the rest of my schedule. Yes, the studio classes were always my favorite retreats.

Below are a few of my favorite paintings from my early oil painting classes. I am ready to start today, learn more and keep the creative ball rolling!  Looking forward to sharing more of my work as the class progresses!

What are some of your favorite college classes? What moments do you crave and cherish from your school days?


About Rachel Urista

An artist searching for like minds.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Heading Back to the Studio!

  1. Evelyn says:

    Rachel, am very excited that you had such an inspiring experience at the retreat and that you enrolled in an oil painting class! That will be amazing! I love seeing your work :-) and look forward to seeing your upcoming work :-) you write beautifully about your passion for painting! Have a lot of fun in your class! I love school! My favorite memory is taking photography classes with one of the most inspiring professors, Jack Butler. He believed in me :-) it only takes one person to know you and know your talents for your wings to take flight. Now go and soar high my friend! With Mark’s love and support you are taking your passion and creativity to new heights!

    • Hi Evelyn!
      Thank you so much for your support and encouragement. :) I love to hear about your experiences in school, those are memories that stay with you. I am so glad to hear of your mentor, Jack Butler. Do you keep in touch? Your photography is beautiful and so artistic. Do you have your work up where I can view more? You have also always been so encouraging and a mentor in my life.

      Much love!

  2. Pingback: Oil Explorations |

Would love to hear your thoughts!

