Spread 001 – A Gardeners Heart

(click on images for larger view)

Garden Soil, Acrylic Paints, decorative papers, seed packets, vegetable seeds, plant leaves & ink

Inspired by hours of work in my garden, amongst the soil, plants and sun. The writing in this spread is of the following partial poem:

“The kiss of the sun for pardon,
The song of the birds for mirth,–
One is nearer God’s heart in a garden
Than anywhere else on earth.

For He broke it for us in a garden
Under the olive-trees
Where the angel of strength was the warden
And the soul of the world found ease.”

~ by Dorothy Frances Gurney

The Full poem can be seen on Frary’s Fresh Flowers blog  here 

I took these photos just a few days ago, on what ended up being the last full day of sun here in Oregon. The fall weather has arrived and the plants and earth are soaking up the rain.

This entry was posted in Art Journaling, Mixed Media Painting, Sketch Book and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spread 001 – A Gardeners Heart

  1. apaperbear says:

    Rachel! I love this! More journal pages, more art! More garden picks! Love!!!

    • Rachel Urista says:

      Thank You Brian! Your comments are very encouraging!

      I had myself a little Art Journaling intensive lately and it was so amazing, I don’t know how I’ve gone so long without journaling. I think I’m getting more “in-tune” with my own way of Art Journaling with the more I do…did you have a similar experience?

      I have a lot more to post! ;) Stay tuned!! Many, many more pages to come!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

