Growing a Tree – Art Journaling Class

Photo May 31, 3 38 38 PM

This was a class  I taught earlier this summer at The Drawing Board in downtown Corvallis.  I had so much fun, we had so much fun! I loved seeing how students took the instructions and ran with it, creating their own unique pieces…

How expressive and freeing it can be to let go of the outcome, and just create. Sharing this love of journaling and giving others the tools and confidence to journal on their own was a blast!

TreesJournalClassStudentsWorkPhoto May 31, 1 54 09 PM

Students work was great! They really got into it!

Photo May 31, 3 36 27 PM

Below are a few images showing some of the basic steps… This was first taught to me by Orly Avineri, but I have made my own modifications. Check out her blog to see her fabulous work! 
IMG_5732

Paint, and adding texture. Shown here with brush strokes and a dry paper towel. I try to choose contrasting colors, and limit it to 2-3 colors.

IMG_5737

Over the paint, I layered some papers and did a light wash to tie the whole thing together….You can see the paper underneath the ink in the photo below.

Next, pour, splash, scratch out the wet ink! Have fun, be spontaneous, let go and let the ink do its thing!
IMG_5782

Glueing in leaves, inking on top and dotting more paint. Again, I limited my paint colors, to match the original underpainting colors and tie it all in together.IMG_5788

Once it dries, I just keep layering ink and marker to define leaves and other fine details. Have fun and make it your own!

AJDEMO_Urista

Hope this sparks an idea for you. Happy Journaling!

This entry was posted in Art Journaling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing a Tree – Art Journaling Class

  1. craftymadre says:

    This is beautiful! I love the way the pouring paint makes the tree so organically shaped!

Would love to hear your thoughts!

