Processes

Process or processing (verb) typically describes the action of taking something through an established and usually routine set of procedures or steps to convert it from one form to another”  (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki)

I think all paintings carry the history of its making if you look close enough!  I wanted to share with you some of the history of this Sakura Tree piece – or the process of taking it from idea to finished painting.  This was one of the first sketches, you can see the tracing paper flap was used to position the blossoms on top of the intricate branching patterns.

Here is one of the first painted sketches…. I had fun creating the texture with natural sponges, pine cones and what ever else I could try. Eventually I would use pinecones and branches on the final piece to help break up the monotonous texture of the blossoms I was getting with the brushes…

In looking back on the process of this painting, you can see and feel it when looking at the edges… looking back in its history.  It really hits me when I am doing the final touches, and painting the sides of the canvases, sealing it closed, completing the piece.

… In the end, the clean crisp dark sides of the painting seemed to complete it- it was almost ready to hang!

A little inspiration! 😀 Sweet Peas from the local Farmers Market! Fresh flowers and plants always energize me.  Now to position the glass beads!

Just about there! 😀 I really loved creating this piece, it was such a good challenge and so much fun!  I hope the painting is enjoyed as much as I enjoyed creating it.


2 thoughts on “Processes

Would love to hear your thoughts!

