Oil Explorations

This post is a follow up to this one: Heading Back to the Studio

I enrolled in an oil painting class this past spring, and it has been great to get back into oil paints again.

Here are some of my pieces. They started out very methodical, as I was doing my best to follow instructions and see what I could learn. But by the second painting, a few weeks in… This is what took form, I just couldn’t paint neatly anymore!

IMG_6127

 

Here is the final painting from the sessions. With this one I tried to do a combo of planing, pacing and also some free flowing loose stroked paintings.

On the easel…

and finished painting…

(click image to enlarge)

Since the class only met once a week, I didn’t do a mass amount of paintings, but rather stayed on one for a few months. Its a nice change from some of the faster work I do. I am signed up again and already started another large square oil of one of my favorite spots in Bend, Oregon. Will keep on posting as I make progress!


Would love to hear your thoughts!

