Spread 006 – Kazoku-Family

Found images, Acrylic Paints, printed family photo, Japanese maple leaves, ink

There is so much more to be discovered about my family history. I’d really like to journal about each one of the stories my Grandma has told me about her life in Japan.

I know so little but the more I learn of history, the more I realize what a remarkable time she grew up in and raised a family in. My Grandmother was born in Fukuoka, Japan about 1930 and came to the United States in the early 50s, with my mother (then just a baby) and her American husband.

Some of the papers in here are written by my Grandma – the only papers of her handwriting I have. In these writings, she lists out our family tree. Unfortunately, I couldn’t read much and had trouble following. I really hope someday I can learn more and have clarity about our family. For now I have a few images mixed with my imagination, pieced together from the stories my mother and my grandmother have told.

**Updates** My mother just gave me this update: “Your grandmother was born on March 25, 1924 in Dazaifu, Kumamoto-Ken, Japan.” Thanks Mom!

 See where Dazaifu, Japan is on a map here


Would love to hear your thoughts!

