Let Go

ImagineCoffeePainting_Working3_RUrista ImagineCoffeePainting_Working2_RUrista

There are times when I need to get out of my own art routine…I savor moments painting and creating in my journals. Yet there are times when I feel I need to switch it up, work in a completely new manner, and go with the inspiration of the day.

On this particular night, a few weeks ago, I packed up a few sheets of paper, a few paints and pastels, my rather large jar of black gesso, and headed out to meet fellow artist friend at our local coffee shop. I had nothing in mind, no preconceived ideas. I just knew I needed to let something out. I needed to move, to stand, use my entire arms in long sweeping motions and short choppy ones and just make marks on the paper.

Working in this manner, I tapped into my emotions, letting them guide my movements, and then let them go. Out of chaos emerged several symbols and eventually a beautiful, strong and fierce face. Who knew when I started what the final painting was going to reveal?

Do you have a method for “letting go” and a form of creating which has no rules? Where you can be free from constraint? I’d love to hear about your process.

ImagineCoffeePainting_Working1_RUrista

ImagineCoffeePainting0413RUrista Imagine_CloseRt_RUrista Imagine_CloseLft_RUrista


Would love to hear your thoughts!

