Coastal Energies

RockawayEnergyPainting_RachelUrista Sharing a work in progress today and a journal page focused on that great rejuvenating energy we find at the rugged Oregon Coast.

When I draw, journal or paint landscapes, I am not just reacting to what my eye sees. I paint the energy of places…their past, their present… I sense it in the wind, I sense it in the ground of a place. There are certain places in nature which draw me in, whispering on the winds about their true nature…I feel compelled to paint and paint and mix and weave until I have captured a bit of the essence of a place. RockawayEnergy_Close2_WorkInProgress_MixedMedia_RachelUrista RockawayEnergy_Close1_WorkInProgress_MixedMedia_RachelUristaAcrylics, spray inks, Adirondack inks, and acrylic inks, origami paper, antique papers (from the 20’s) and fiber paste on canvas. Working away at this one, and will post images of the final painting!

Below is a finished Art Journal page.

RockawayMagicFull_MixedMedia_RachelUrista

 

 

 

 

RockawayMagicClose2_MixedMedia_RachelUrista RockawayMagicClose1_MixedMedia_RachelUrista

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks for dropping by! Hope this inspires you in someway to look beyond what the eye sees, to paint from your heart and soul and be true to your vision.


One thought on “Coastal Energies

Would love to hear your thoughts!

