Joyful • Art Journal Pages

Sometimes you have to let go of controlling your art, and let the color and forms carry YOU. These two journal spreads were a joy to create, and make me smile whenever I see them. You see, I wasn’t trying to capture each petal and leaf- I was capturing the beauty and freshness, growth and energy from the plants and the feelings they stirred up in me.
A closer look at the layers of paint, inks,  graphite sticks, gel pens.

BloomFull_MixedMedia_RachelUristaBloom1_MixedMedia_RachelUristaBloom2_MixedMedia_RachelUrista



Working intuitively with colors, I built up layer upon layer of acrylic paints and origami papers for the backgrounds. I love layering paint and scratching or mark making on top of it- it creates a sense of energy. From this, I glued in some fabric leaves, and worked with Dylusions spray inks and stencils to add depth and pops of color.

Botanicals3_MixedMedia_RachelUristaBotanicals2_MixedMedia_RachelUrista

Tracing over the fabric leaves and adding stems with a waterproof black marker pulled them out to the foreground. I adore doodles and line work- so naturally, I had to add in fun bubbles, flowers and waves with a white gel pen.

The end result: joyful pages! Is this something you would try? Happy creating!


3 thoughts on “Joyful • Art Journal Pages

Would love to hear your thoughts!

