Birdsong

“In your light I learn how to love.

In your beauty, how to make poems.

You dance inside my chest, 

where no one sees you, 

but sometimes I do, and that

sight becomes this art.”

– From Birdsong Rumi
fifty-three short poems translated by Coleman Barks
  MirrorOfMyMirror_RUrista_smallMirror of my Mirror, 12×48, Mixed media on wood panel, Private Collection

TheBlueLake_RUrista_CloseUp

These two paintings were created in honor of National Poetry Month back in April. Weaving my words into the paint and papers, making visible abstract poems and sensations; these two paintings were born.

Does Poetry inspire you to paint too? I have found poetry and abstract writings to be spring boards into a painting. Or, if I feel “stuck” poetry can fuel the next decision… How do you use poetry in your art?

I am proud and honored to have had them on display during April at Pegasus Art Gallery in Corvallis, Oregon.

SoulWaters_RUrista_SmallSoulWaters_RUrista_Closeup2Soul Waters, 48×12, Mixed media on wood panel, Sold

 


Would love to hear your thoughts!

