See the Dragons Before They are Gone!

Fire on the water, 2017, Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

WHEN:  June 1 – June 30, 2017

TIME: 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday – Saturday, plus during evening and weekend performances

LOCATION: Antoinette Hatfield Hall – Portland5

ADMISSION IS FREE

I invite you to visit the show, and take in all of the amazing work! Its stunning the way artists of different mediums have approached and captured the theme of the gorgeous Dragon Boats.

See more on their facebook- https://www.facebook.com/pg/DragonBoatArtShow

Heres a peak at many, many more pieces – ALL are for Sale, in downtown Portland, Antoinette Hatfield Hall – Portland5.

You can find details here: http://www.rosefestival.org/event/dragon-boat-art-show

Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

 

At least a year ago I saw the Dragon boat art show on facebook through friends. It looked amazing! I had missed any deadline to apply but fell in love with the theme and became fascinated with the boats too! Fast forward a year and I see the Dragon Boat Art show pop up again…but this time, the deadline is just a few days away- I thought, Darn! close but no cigar! I’ll have to wait till next year- but then– the deadline was extended- I had another shot at it! I wasted no time and got right to work.

YES! I jumped right in. I knew I saw the dragon and I DID.First dragon (really!) even though I love myth and magic and have been exposed to them all my life.

Abstract, mixed media, Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

As the painting progressed, the dragon grew gnarly and powerful…

Fire on the water, 2017, Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist, japanese dragon art, Japanese art, japanese dragon
Early stages

 

I decided to hand build the frame. I did a float mount- and a nice black lacquer molding- about 1 3/4″ thick. I turned out great! I can’t wait to keep building out frames for my work- it felt so polished and finished. Heres a look…

Finished and framed!

Art Show, Portland, Porland5, Downtown art, Oregon Artist, Rachel Urista, Dragon boat, Dragon Art, Fantasy Art, Mixed media art, Corvallis Artist

 


Would love to hear your thoughts!

